Objectives & Types of Service Level Agreement

Service Objective

 The objective of the implementing agency is to provide a centralized Messaging service to all employees working under the different arms of the Government, both at the Central and State level that:

  •  Is efficient
  •  Is scalable and reliable
  • Satisfies the security requirements of the Government
  •  Meets the needs of its users

The purpose of this Service Level Agreement is to clearly define the levels of service which shall be provided by the implementing agency to its users.

Scope of Service Level Agreement:

This document describes the standard level of service that would be rendered by the implementing agency within the framework of Security, including performance criteria, availability of services, action to be taken in cases of a service failure and response and repair times.

The implementing agency reserves the right to change, update, amend, or modify this SLA at any time. Such changes will be intimated to the users.

Additional Definitions

For the purpose of this agreement, the following additional definitions are required:
False positive – means a wrong classification of a legitimate email message as spam or Malware by scanning techniques and, as a result, interfering with its delivery.
Known Malware – means malware that is detectable with existing anti-virus software signatures known to the antivirus software used as part of the Service.
Repair time – means the time within Office hours measured by the implementing agency between the implementing agency receiving a notification of a failure by the user and recovery of the Service by the implementing agency.
Scheduled maintenance – means maintenance work performed by the implementing agency to its own network, data center, servers and resources. Implementing agency
will notify the users about the maintenance and the expected time for service restoration will be notified on the website.
Service Availability – means the amount of time expressed as a percentage during which the Service is available for the user over a defined period.
Service failure – means an interruption of the delivery of Services and Deliverables excluding Scheduled maintenance.

Three types of SLA are:

Service-based SLA: This type of SLA defines the level of service that the provider agrees to offer to the customer. It outlines the minimum level of performance, availability, and other key indicators that the provider must meet for the service to be considered acceptable.

Customer-based SLA: This type of SLA is tailored to the specific needs of the customer. It takes into account factors such as the customer’s business goals, operational requirements, and budget constraints. The provider and the customer work together to define the parameters of the SLA, which may include performance metrics, response times, and other service levels.

Multilevel SLA: This type of SLA is used when a service provider offers multiple services to a customer. Each service may have its own SLA, and there may be an overarching SLA that governs the entire relationship between the provider and the customer. This type of SLA can be complex, but it ensures that all parties have a clear understanding of the expectations for each service and the overall relationship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *